Being a Black Girl in Istanbul and other stories

Living and working in Istanbul has been one of the most interesting experiences in my life. Regardless of the advice I received from friends before coming here, nothing prepared me adequately for what I have experienced thus far. So, let me break it down, I will try and shed some light on how life is as a black girl in Istanbul;

1. If you are wondering whether Turkish people are racist, in my opinion, they are not. I have 9 more months in this country, so maybe that opinion might change, but they truly are not racist. That is mainly because as I have come to realize, most Turkish people have not really been exposed to various cultures, especially Africans, that much. So when they see a dark skinned person, they truly marvel at the sight (that is just a polite way of me saying they will stare at you, long and hard). That brings me to my next point;

2. Getting used to long and hard stares. This is the most hilarious and, at the same time, annoying part of being in this country as a black girl. Woe unto you black girls who hate being stared at! If there is something Turkish people don’t get tired of doing it is staring! You will experience old men looking at you like you are some sort of rare artifact, like a shiny jewel, completely amazed and the old women follow suit. The younger and middle aged people will stare only up until you give them a stone-faced look, then they look away immediately. Just yesterday I was helping my Ghanaian friend move houses; we stepped out of the cab and started unpacking her luggage at the new house and this lady (looked like she was not older than 55) LITERALLY stops dead on her tracks, in the middle of the road, and looks at us for a solid 10 minutes. Just staring, nothing more. She looked like she was sort of holding her breath, or maybe she was mortified, it was hard to tell. But I always giggle when I remember her. So that happens on the regular, every single damn place, metro, in the bus, streets, supermarkets- everywhere. Sometimes its annoying, sometimes you feel flattered. Happens to the boys too.

3. Most people are super curious about where you come from. But that just happens everywhere, not just Turkey. There is a 90% chance that they will ask what country you are from. If you get to have a longer conversation, they will ask about how things are in your country. I really like how they know that they don’t know and ask. In other countries I have been they would simply make assumptions and ask me if they were correct, case in point, I have never been asked if I have a pet lion in my backyard or if I live in the slum, yet. That is a good sign. They always ask before coming to such a conclusion.

Image

4. Most people marvel at your natural afro hair. Especially if you have braids on, I think most people cannot wrap their minds around how your hair can be made into braids or why your hair is so different, so they may try to pull your hair (the mannerless ones) or ask you a lot of questions about it. Same applies to any kind of natural afro hair style, most ladies actually like it. One lady told me she prefers my natural hair to hers(she was Caucasian with long silky black hair), I told her she has no idea what kind of struggle I go through while combing it in the morning and how, if I run out of pot scouring pad, I might as well use a portion of my hair to scrub off stubborn stains on pots owing to how tough my hair is. She thought I was joking, I gave her a comb to try and comb my hair,the comb broke, she said nothing else.

5. The only dark side of being a black girl is Istanbul is harassment. Anticipate it, it has happened to many girls here, unfortunately. This is actually a problem for every girl who is a foreigner here but as a black person you stand out and hence it might happen to you quite often. Some foolish Turkish men think all girls who are foreigners are promiscuous and hence you will not mind if they groped you. For black girls, it doesn’t help that there a lot of prostitutes who are black and hence some dense Turkish men will think you are a prostitute at first sight. They will stalk you, ask to sleep with you, follow you almost till your doorstep still asking if they can sleep with you. Of course this is far from the ideal, but it will happen. One common way to pull through is wearing an Iron face (no more smiley faces, even on the good days), all the time, hoping that the face will somehow intimidate the douche bag to leave you alone. Ignore his cat-calls, I mean act like a deaf person, don’t flinch, don’t look back, don’t smile, don’t change face or behavior. Keep walking and act like he has not just asked to have sex with you or called you a whore. Grow some good thick skin. If he draws closer as if trying to grop you, unleash the Omni-potent Pepper spray, pepper spray is your friend. Spray it generously on his face, aim at the eyes, that should do it, then run, at ‘Kenyan marathon runner’ speed. Sad but true.

However, this is not something that Turks are proud of or happy about, every time I tell a Turkish person of such incidences they get really embarrassed and sorry because most Turks are really hospitable and kind people.

6. Afro hair salons. There are coming up but still very few. I know of only one in Istanbul, in an area called Yenikapi, a 10 minute walk from Yenikapi metro station. A Nigerian guy runs the shop and he does everything, from braids to relaxing your hair, to cutting men’s hair, he is my hair angel in Istanbul. It does cost a tidy sum to get your hair braided here (mostly more than 100 lira)  but it is fairly cheaper to maintain relaxed hair (to my amazement) as regular treatment and perming does not cost that much(costed 30 lira to relax hair at this salon).

Well, all other experiences are not any different from other foreigners’ experiences in Istanbul. This place is not heaven,  but somehow a midst all these peculiar situations, you will learn to cope and you will love this place. Remember if all else fails;

It’s never that serious.

20 thoughts on “Being a Black Girl in Istanbul and other stories

  1. Hi! I always wondered what black people in Turkey felt like, because I know Turkish people are not used to it so I always thought it would be very hard. I was very curious when I saw your article, and it seems better than what I thought it would be. Sorry to hear about number 5, it’s really a shame 😦 I hope you will enjoy the rest of your stay in Istanbul!

  2. Hahahahah i couldn’t stop laughing at your intelligent and well structured post. So true. I am Nigerian and i have been living and working here for 2 and a half years and if i was to tell my story so far, it would make a best seller. But then i will tell you mine when i finally meet you. Let me shine some lights on the point about prostitution, i have a lot of Turkish friends who also ask me if i can introduce them to black girls because they would like to be with 1. The truth is, its all curiosity, a typical Turkish guy is like a horny machine box, i believe he thinks about sex 90% of the time and he wants it easy, they are attracted to black girls because they are different, no strings attached,no commitment, and then again because of the curves. Then again, a lot of black girls here are prostitutes even tough we dont have so much but people from the Dominicans are brown skinned like Africans and are confused for African and i can tell you with facts, most Dominicans here are prostitutes. Also, guys are being harassed too, especially when a Turkish guy is with his girl friend, either walking or in the bus, most time than ever, the moment he sights you, he either holds her close or raps his hands around her in a tight grip and am like for God sake we don’t steal girls!!! The bad part is they keep asking you the size of your manhood and if you have marijuana, like seriously. They also get kinda offended and keep staring at you when you with a Turkish girl and that aside, they dont just know how to peep.8 guys are sitting in a park, 1 notices you and you notice him at the-same time, he beckons on the others and they all turn there lights at you, its kinda feels bad but trust me, they dont have the slightest idea. Finally on the salon issue, i know a couple of afro salon around mecidihekoy, kutlush, or even aksary. Welcome to Turkey.

  3. The good, the bad and the ugly. Those stares are just something else, I’m gradually getting used to it. I sometimes see myself as a star. 🙂 As for the harassment…….i pray I don’t beat up someone coz I can see myself getting there.

  4. I’m new(ısh) in Turkey and I’m starting to wonder about the hair situation here. I see salons for days, but I am weary to try them.

    I go to black barber shops in America or salons that specialize in natural hair…should I try my luck at a unisex salon here, or are there black slaons here as well???

  5. What’s the name of the hair salon in Yenikapi, I’ll be there next week and my hair is dying for a relaxer. I’m a mixed woman living near Istanbul and i need hair love bad!!!!!

  6. Quite an interesting article muthoni,i can very much relate to this especially living in a more remote part of turkey,Am kenyan and i visit Istanbul often,would love to meet you soon and also get some more information on the hair salons.Take care.

  7. Hey muthoni, Very interesting reading your blog especially this one, I can very much relate to it because I experience the same,lol.Am a kenyan working here but in a different part if turkey however I come to Istanbul quite often.Would be nice to meet you and also get more information about hair salons. Looking forward to hearing from you. Eva.

  8. Hi, so happy I came across your blog as I am haitian and planning a trip to turkey in August. I would love to get some insight from you on accommodations in Turkey.

Leave a comment